Three Minute Thesis® Competition

Monday, 3 June 2019
BCEC Room 256
14:00 - 16:00

Click here for a list of our 3MT® finalists

We encourage all IMS2019 attendees to come to the Competition.

IMS2019 3MT® Organizers:
John Bandler, Co-chair
Erin Kiley, Co-chair
Rui Ma

Master of Ceremonies: Sherry Hess, VP Marketing, AWR Group at National Instruments


Samira Alkhairy, Postdoctoral Researcher, MIT EECS CommLab
Carey Goldberg, Health and Science Reporter, WBUR
Tamar Melman, Data Scientist, Climacell
Robert Pinsky, Poet
Ron Renaud, Professional Coach and Author

Click here to meet our M/C and Judges

Abstract: The Three Minute Thesis® (3MT®) competition, developed by The University of Queensland (UQ), Australia, in 2008, (see “cultivates students’ academic, presentation, and research communication skills. The competition supports their capacity to effectively explain their research in three minutes, in a language appropriate to a non-specialist audience.” In three minutes or less, using only one static slide, and no other props, contestants deliver their presentation to a panel of non-specialist judges. These judges rank the contestants, based on how engaging, accessible, and compelling they made their presentation. A candidate who goes overtime is disqualified.